For Coaches

TrueCoach vs Trainerize vs UltraFit360 for Online PTs

September 27, 2026 · 11 min read · By UltraFit360 Team

Prices checked on September 27, 2026. This is for online personal trainers weighing up TrueCoach and Trainerize, with UltraFit360 compared alongside as a third option. We look at programming, exercise library, nutrition, check-ins, messaging, lead capture, booking, teams, payments and what happens to client data after coaching ends.

Quick verdict

TrueCoach is built around a simple three-tier structure with payments and a large video library included from its lowest paid plan, but there's no free tier. Trainerize starts at $0/month for a single client and scales through more tiers, with payments and branding sold as add-ons. UltraFit360 is a newer platform aimed at solo coaches and small teams that adds a lead page, booking calendar and AI-assisted meal planning to the programming and check-in basics, without client payments or a custom-branded app.

If you're an online personal trainer with a handful of clients today and expect to grow past that, the decision usually comes down to whether you'd rather pay one flat price per tier from day one (TrueCoach) or start free and add pieces as your roster grows (Trainerize). If client acquisition — not just client management — is also a gap in your current setup, that's where a platform like UltraFit360, with a lead page and booking calendar built in, changes the comparison.

TrueCoach and Trainerize solve the same core problem — programming, tracking and communicating with paying clients — but they package it very differently. TrueCoach keeps its plan structure to three tiers and includes payments in all of them; Trainerize spreads a similar feature set across more tiers and add-ons but opens with a genuinely free plan. Below, every figure comes from each vendor's own pricing page, checked on the date at the top of this post, with anything not explicitly stated marked "Not stated" rather than assumed.

Feature-by-feature comparison

Feature TrueCoach Trainerize UltraFit360
Client app Client Dashboard on all plans Mobile app (iOS/Android), from Basic plan iOS and Android client app, syncing to Apple Health or Health Connect with AI-assisted meal logging
Program builder Program & Workout Builder, all plans Custom programs from Grow tier; AI Workout Builder on Grow+ Structured around weeks, days and blocks (warmup, main, cooldown); build once and reuse as a shareable team template
Exercise library 3,000+ video exercise library, all plans Custom exercise videos on Pro tier; library size not stated Searchable by muscle, equipment and difficulty, with demo animations and room to add your own moves
Nutrition/meal plans MyFitnessPal-based nutrition & habit tracking, all plans; advanced tier on Standard/Pro Meal/macro tracking on Grow+; Advanced Nutrition add-on ($20–$45/month) for meal planner and recipes Generate a plan with the AI Meal Planner or import an existing PDF; build by hand at the ingredient level and track targets against what clients actually log
Check-ins/questionnaires Not stated Consultation forms on Pro tier Set a weekly check-in day per client for an automatic questionnaire (nine answer types), or send one on demand; everything lands in one inbox
Messaging In-app messaging, all plans Basic messaging on Basic; advanced messaging on Pro Direct chat per client with unread counts, surfaced through a single "Needs you" list
Lead capture Not stated Not stated A personal lead page (ultrafit360.com/l/yourname) that captures enquiries and tracks them New through Contacted to Converted
Booking calendar Not stated Not stated A personal booking link (ultrafit360.com/book/yourname) for intro calls, with your own hours, call length, notice period and booking window, shown in the prospect's timezone
Teams Not stated Team management on paid tiers Bring on coaches by email or invite code, work from one shared client pool, and track every coach's load on a team dashboard
Client payments Free Automated Payments via Stripe, included on all plans Stripe Payments add-on, $10/month Not built in — coach and client settle fees between themselves
Client data after coaching ends Not stated Not stated Workouts, meals, weight and photos remain in the client's app, which reverts to the AI coach; you keep read-only access to past check-ins but lose visibility into new data

Pricing summary (TrueCoach and Trainerize)

TrueCoach: starts at $26.34/month for up to 5 active clients on its Starter plan, with no free tier, and steps up to $57.99/month (20 clients) and $136.99/month (50 clients) on Standard and Pro (truecoach.co/pricing, checked September 27, 2026).

Trainerize: starts at $0/month for 1 coaching client, then scales through paid tiers from $9/month (2 clients) up to $248/month+ for 500+ clients (trainerize.com/pricing, checked September 27, 2026).

Where TrueCoach is stronger

TrueCoach bundles more into a single price than Trainerize does at the equivalent client count. Its Starter plan already includes Stripe payments, which are a $10/month add-on on Trainerize, and a stated 3,000+ video library, where Trainerize doesn't state a library size. If you want one flat monthly cost that includes billing and a large video library without shopping for add-ons, TrueCoach's pricing is simpler to plan around.

Where Trainerize is stronger

Trainerize has a genuinely free entry point (Basic, $0/month for 1 client) and a much finer-grained ladder above it. TrueCoach has no free tier and its pricing jumps in three larger steps (Starter, Standard, Pro) rather than scaling smoothly with client count. If you're testing the waters with your first client or plan to grow a large multi-tier roster over years, Trainerize's structure gives you more room to start small and step up gradually.

Where UltraFit360 fits

For an online PT specifically, what usually matters most isn't the plan tiers above but how a prospect goes from "found you online" to "on your books," and what happens to their data once they leave. UltraFit360 is built around that path:

What it doesn't do: there's no client payments or billing feature, so — unlike TrueCoach's included Stripe payments — you'll agree and collect fees with clients directly. There's also no custom-branded app for your clients.

What we didn't include

TrueCoach's pricing page doesn't use the terms "check-in" or "form builder" anywhere, even though its Client Dashboard implies some tracking of client progress — so we've marked that row "Not stated" rather than assume it works the way a dedicated check-in tool does. Multi-coach or team support is also absent from TrueCoach's pricing page. Trainerize doesn't state an exact exercise library size beyond noting custom exercise videos on its Pro tier. Where a vendor's page is silent, we've marked the cell "Not stated" rather than fill it in from outside sources.

Who should choose what

Choose TrueCoach if you want built-in payments and a large exercise video library bundled into one price from your first paid tier, and you don't need a free entry plan.

Choose Trainerize if you want to start on a free single-client plan and scale through a fine-grained pricing ladder as your roster grows, adding payments and branding as separate purchases when you need them.

Choose UltraFit360 if your priority is programming, nutrition and check-ins with a lead page and booking calendar built in, and clients keeping their training history when the relationship ends matters more to you than having payments or a branded app built into the platform.

Frequently asked questions

Does TrueCoach or Trainerize include client payments?

TrueCoach includes free automated payments via Stripe on every plan, starting from its Starter tier. Trainerize sells payments as a separate Stripe Payments add-on for $10/month. If built-in billing matters to you, TrueCoach includes it by default.

Which one has a bigger exercise video library?

TrueCoach states a 3,000+ video exercise library on all plans. Trainerize offers custom exercise videos from its Pro tier but doesn't state an overall library size on its pricing page.

Is TrueCoach or Trainerize cheaper for a small roster?

Trainerize is cheaper at the very bottom: its Basic plan is $0/month for 1 client, and Grow is $9/month for 2 clients. TrueCoach's Starter plan is $26.34/month for up to 5 active clients, with no free tier, but it bundles payments, MyFitnessPal nutrition tracking and the full video library at that price.

How does UltraFit360 compare on client check-ins and data ownership?

UltraFit360's check-in inbox reviews questionnaire answers, progress photos, weight, body fat, sleep and steps together, and when coaching ends the client keeps their history while you lose access to their ongoing health data. TrueCoach's pricing page doesn't name a check-in feature or state what happens to client data after coaching ends, and neither does Trainerize's.

Sources

Competitor prices and features checked on September 27, 2026, from each vendor's own pricing page:

More from UltraFit360
UF

UltraFit360 Team

Coaching tools for personal trainers — programs, nutrition, check-ins and client management in one place. Learn more →

See the coach platform

Programs, nutrition, check-ins, leads and booking for coaches — in one place.

Early bird offer: UltraFit360 is free for coaches today. Paid plans launch in January 2027. The first 250 coaches and teams stay free for 12 months after launch; every other coach gets 6 months free from launch.